Senior Reflections – Daniel Velasquez

DSC_0688 (2)My time in CCSA has been wonderful. I started when I was in the 4th grade, nine years ago, in the junior chorus. I remember how I loved going to rehearsal but how scared I was of making a mistake in front of Mrs. McCormick, however my enjoyment of singing kept me returning week after week. Eventually, I realized that she was just trying to develop me into the best singer I could be. This tradition of excellence and discipline continued throughout my years in CCSA and transitioned into many aspects of life besides choir. Many of my successes, outside of choir, I attribute to the discipline and dedication to detail that I learned from Mrs. McCormick and Ms. Taute.  I have many happy and fond memories, i.e. the first Luminaria; practicing and singing Barbershop with Ms. Taute and her “Men”; singing with the Symphony on my birthday and being transported by pedicab; the New York trip; the very recent composers’ concert and many many more memories.  The friends I’ve made and the experiences I’ve been fortunate to have will be something I’ll always cherish.  Thank you Mrs. McCormick and Ms. Taute for always believing in me!

Leave a Reply

