Senior Reflections – Sofia Greimel-Garza

ChoirSofiaPortrait (1)I have been a member of CCSA since I was 7 years old.  These 11 years in the choir have been filled with wonderful friendships, top-notch instruction and repertoire, special opportunities to learn from collaborations with professional musicians, and the privilege of bringing music to our community through a great variety of venues.

When I began in the Prelude Choir, Mrs. Morgan’s playfulness drew me in. Then Mrs. Taute and Mrs. McCormick took over the process of making me musically literate and supporting the development of my voice.  They have challenged me with learning difficult and truly beautiful repertoire, always motivating me to give more in a climate of joy and respect.  They have instilled in me a sense of commitment and reciprocity.  All of our voices work together to make the music.  This is at the heart of my friendships with my fellow singers.  Mrs. Taute and Mrs. McCormick have also helped me to begin to develop a set of public professional skills that will serve me for a lifetime, such as punctuality, professional attire, posture, diction, and delivery.

Over the years we have had so many wonderful opportunities to make music with talented musicians, like the Mastersingers, YOSA, the San Antonio Symphony under both Ken David Masur and Sebastian Lang-Lessing, the San Antonio Opera, as well as visiting directors, like Barbara Baker.  While singing with the Young People’s Choir of New York City I felt the immense power of joining voices with other youth to bring music to the people.  I am forever thankful for my time with CCSA.

Leave a Reply

