Senior Reflections – Mary Shannon Di Filippo

Being a part of CCSA has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. It has given me so many opportunities to meet new people and experience things that I would never have been able to otherwise. The friends I have met, lessons I have learned, and the memories I have made are things I will carry with me for the rest of my life. There is a story Mrs. McCormick tells on the last day of the season opening retreat. The story is about a tribe in Africa and in this tribe every member has a special song that the other members sing to them at crucial life transitions. I may not have grown up in that African tribe, but I have found my song.  I will be forever grateful to Mrs. McCormick, Mrs. Taute, and my family for teaching me my song and singing it to me when I forget it. As I leave CCSA, I know that in life sometimes I will lose, but I will frequently win and either way I am deeply loved by God, my family, and my friends at CCSA. There may be moments when I feel a little warbly, but so have all the great singers, and if I just keep singing I’ll find my way home.

Leave a Reply

