Senior Profile: Rachel Deschner!

 

Tom C. Clark High School

College: University of Texas at Austin

Major: Architecture

“CCSA has been extraordinary for me in the development of myself as a person. Choir hasn’t just been an activity that I’ve participated in; it’s become a part of who I am, from the discipline and attention to detail, to the indescribable bonds that are only created when making beautiful music. Half of my life has been spent singing in this choir and has thus assisted in accessing a part of myself that could not have been accessed were it not for this children’s chorus. I’ve also gotten to witness the transformation of the choir across nine years as it developed with me. I’ve seen old and new techniques and have gotten to take advantage of many opportunities that have been made available to me.

Leaving choir will be difficult as I will be leaving behind nine years of memories from Mondays with two-finger clapping and “copper kettles” that “carry comfort killing cough and cold”. As much as I might learn and as busy as I might be throughout the next few years of my life, I know that I will still occasionally get “Siyahamba” stuck in my head for a solid week and that I’ll still know all the lyrics to “The Boll Weevil”, and even though I may not fully believe it now, I know that I will be happy to remember these because they will remind me of how lucky I was to be a part of such an amazing organization.”

Rachel Senior 2015

From the Family: Rachel joined CCSA to sing with her older siblings in the choir but she soon discovered on her own the joy of singing with such an amazing group of voices. Mrs. McCormick and Mrs. Taute demanded discipline and perfection and we watched as Rachel grew from Junior chorus to appreciate the musical reward that these rigorous rehearsals brought. We enjoyed watching her perform in many venues such as the Majestic, Tobin Center, churches, Magik Theatre, etc and hearing her sing many types of music. CCSA has helped Rachel mature both musically and personally as she has gained even greater appreciation for vocal music.

Singing has been so important in Rachel’s life and we have been grateful for CCSA’s patience with her hectic schedule so that she could continue with the choir. It has been a pleasure to be involved with CCSA for the last 13 years and we will truly miss being a part of this wonderful organization.

—Paul and Annette Deschner

Leave a Reply

